Hickory Smoked Beer

This weekend, my wife and I were free as our kids were gone at their grandparents.  We don’t often have free weekends to act like adults, and so we took advantage of the opportunity.  We went out to dinner with some good friends of ours Ian Mance and Nicole Foster at a local African restaurant.  After dinner we decided to join them at a local bar, Fullsteam Brewery, in town that brews most of its own beers.

I always enjoy spending money on local business, because I feel that is a more worthy investment than spending the money at chain restaurants.  So, I was looking forward to trying a plethora of local beers.  When I looked at the menu however my eyes locked on one beer, Hogwash Hickory Smoked Porter.  I had been thinking about something hickory smoked all day and I knew that would hit the spot.  I had never heard of a hickory smoked beer so I was interested in how it would turn out.

It was great!  Before I knew it, I had gone through 2 glasses!  This beer more than satisfied my craving for something hickory smoked.  The hickory flavor hits you with all its goodness on the first sip, but doesn’t over power you.  The more you drink the flavor stays balanced.  At no point does the hickory take away from the beer.  I can’t wait to try this beer with some BBQ.  I can only imagine how the flavors would mix together and form a heavenly marriage.  All I know is, I will go back for this beer, and possibly try some others, and I need it with some BBQ.  So if you are in Durham, and looking for a great place to grab a beer, head over to Fullsteam and grab some of that Hogwash Hickory Smoked Porter.

2 responses to “Hickory Smoked Beer

  1. I've had a few smoked porters and never a huge fan, but next time I'm in the area I might give this one to try.

    As far as pairing with BBQ, it looks like from their website that they brewed this with that intention so it would definitely be worth trying, but for me sometimes pairings with similar flavor profiles can end up competing with each other rather than complimenting. If you can ever get some home (maybe in a growler?) I would suggest trying with some Gouda or Havarti and crackers.

  2. I think you should check out FARMERS BBQ. They have a great selection of fresh barbecue, make all their rubs and sauces from scratch and smoke in pure hickory wood. Check them out at http://farmersbbq.com They are local and hire only local kids.

Leave a Reply

