Easter Sunday Ham with Pigchaser’s Pineapple Mango Sauce

I am not sure why, but Easter Sunday always seems like the perfect day for Ham.  So like most Easter’s I woke up ready to make some ham.  This year I wanted to do something a little different and smoke my ham.  It seemed like perfect timing since I just had received a box of Pigchaser’s BBQ Sauces.  There was one in particular that you just knew was going to go well with ham, and it was confirmed after emailing Mr. Pigchaser.  The Pineapple Mango Sauce would make a great glaze for a ham.  When I first opened the bottle and tasted the sauce, my initial thought was not that this was a great sauce.  The fruit flavor was really strong and overpowered the sauce components.  It was like making a fruit glaze and mixing it with BBQ sauce ingredients.  I will say that my 7 yr old daughter loves this sauce as is.  I did taste the potential for a great glaze though.  For full disclosure I will admit that I am not a huge fan of Pineapples or Mango’s.

Time for the ham.  I had a 9 pound ham and you generally cook a ham for about 17-20 minutes a pound so this ham needed to cook for about 3 hrs.  Since I use a lower temp when smoking 3.5 to 4 hours could be the time needed depending on how well the heat holds in your smoker.  I started out with giving the ham a good rubdown in mustard and then coating it with some Big Tex Morgan’s Western Dry Rub, you may remember them from an earlier post.  Then I rubbed the dry rub and mustard all together for a nice coating on the ham (all sides including the flat side).  I got the my smoker to 250 degrees and set the ham flat side down and let it get to work.  I used a combination of coals and apple wood.  I really love the smell and flavor of apple wood.

With about 45 minutes of cooking time left, I open the smoker and give the ham a good coating of the Pineapple Mango BBQ sauce and work my coals to a higher temp of 275 and let it get back to work.  The finished product was amazing.  That sauce cooked well and mixed with the flavor of the dry rub really well and gave the ham a very nice glaze.  The ham was very moist and flavorful and my wife said it was the best ham I had made for her.  She was not an initial fan of the sauce, but loved how it cooked with the ham and loved the flavor of the ham mixed with the sauce.  Once you get creative with this sauce it becomes a good sauce.  For those of you who like Pineapples and Mango’s, you may like it right out the bottle.  For people like me who are not fans of those fruits, once you get creative and use the sauce with various rubs and meats will find the sauce is quite good.  It definitely serves as a great glaze, not sure what else besides that, but give it a try and make it fit your tastes.                                

I look forward to trying the other sauces Pigchaser sent me.  Be on the lookout for future posts about their other sauces.

Leave a Reply

