Pork Barrel BBQ Sweet BBQ Sauce

This weekend while doing some grocery shopping I swung by the World Market in Durham and picked up a bottle of Pork Barrel BBQ Sweet BBQ Sauce and some of their dry rub.  I first met the good folks at Pork Barrel BBQ over twitter and have interacted with them several times on their.  In fact, I am looking forward to heading up to D.C. in April when their new restaurant is open and giving it a try.  When I found that one of their sauces was available I had to get a bottle to give it a try.

I was thinking about ways I wanted to use it and wanted to once again use a recipe I got from Deep South Dish and had made before.  My twist is just adding a BBQ Sauce instead of some of the other ingredients listed  The family loved it, and I wanted to give it a shot with a different sauce, hence the perfect chance to use that new sauce.

I am glad I picked up this sauce, and am going to have to go back and get some more.  I love this sauce, and it is one of the best sauces I have had.  This is a sweet Kansas City Style sauce with molasses, and it has great flavor.  The sauce absorbed nicely into the meat and was even better the next day for leftovers (came home for lunch today).  If this sauce was any indication of their other sauces and runs I cannot wait to use them.

I would encourage everyone to visit their site http://www.porkbarrelbbq.com/ and order some sauce directly  from them.  One interesting note you will pick up on from their site is that they were on the ABC show Shark Tank and were able to strike a deal with one of the Shark’s.  Despite the fact that they are on opposite sides of the political spectrum than I am, I wish them great success.  They got my business!

Here are some pics, I forgot to take a pic of the final product.  I was to busy eating!

One response to “Pork Barrel BBQ Sweet BBQ Sauce

Leave a Reply

