Super Bowl Part 1: The Shoulders!

So when I planned out my Super Bowl Menu I knew that there it would require 2 days of cooking.  The full menu is Baby back Ribs, Pulled Pork Nachos, Pulled Pork Quesadillas, Cheese Quesadillas, and Smokey Chicken Strips! I bought 2 pork shoulders to cover all my pulled pork needs and planned for Saturday to be my pork smokin’ day!  Friday I picked up the shoulders and had them marinate all night.  I rubbed them down in my special rub and then soaked them in Apple Juice, Apple Cider Vinegar and Whiskey.  My liquid pan in the smoker was filled with that as well with some water thrown in.  Because of some other errands I had to run I could not get smokin’ until the afternoon and so I had the meat on at 3 pm.  I spent the rest of the day making some bbq sauce and more rub as well as preparing the marinade for my ribs and chicken so they would be ready to go first thing Sunday.  My shoulders were finally done about 1:15 am, sat for 30 minutes and by 2 am was all shredded up and ready for Nachos and Quesadillas.  Below are pictures throughout the process.  I did get a shot at one of the few times I open the lid to spray them down with Apple Juice and Whiskey!

Leave a Reply

